Poem of the Day: Everyday you play … by Pablo Neruda [EN]/[ES] Juega todos los días…

Everyday, you play… [trans. S.W.]

Everyday, you play with the light of the universe.
Subtle visitor, you arrive in bloom and water.
You are more than this little white head I grasp tightly in my hands
everyday, like a cluster of fruits.

And you are like no one because I love you.
Leave me to tend to you between the yellow garlands.
Who is writing the letters of your name in smoke
between the southern stars?
Ah, leave me here to remember how you were then,
even when you didn’t exist.

The wind suddenly howls and strikes at my closed window.
The sky is a coagulated net of sombre fishes.
Here they will come to give all the winds, all of them.
The rain will undress.

The birds pass as they are escaping.
The wind. The breeze.
I am only able to fight against the strength of man.
The storm swirls around the dark leaves
and sets free all the boats that were tied to heaven last night.

You are here. Ah, you will not flee.
You will respond until my  last scream.
Curled up by my side as if you were afraid.
Even though, at some point, a strange shadow ran through your eyes.

Now, now as well, my little one,
you bring me honeysuckle,
and your breasts are soaked in its scent.
While the sorrowful wind races to kill butterflies
I love you, and my happiness bites at the plum of your mouth.

How much you will have suffered to get used to me,
to my solitary and feral soul, to my name that terrifies all.
We have seen this ardour many times, the light kissing our eyes
and all over our heads,
Unwinding twilights in gyrating fans.

My words rained over you, caressing you.
Way back when, still loving your sun-kissed and pearly iridescent body.
Until I shall think of you as the owner of the universe.

I will bring you cheerful mountain flowers, bellflowers
dark hazels, wild baskets of kisses.
I want to make with you…
What spring makes with the cherry trees.

[Original – ES]

Juegas todos los días con la luz del universo.
Sutil visitadora, llegas en la flor y en el agua.
Eres más que esta blanca cabecita que aprieto
como un racimo entre mis manos cada día.

A nadie te pareces desde que yo te amo.
Déjame tenderte entre guirnaldas amarillas.
Quién escribe tu nombre con letras de humo entre las estrellas del sur?
Ah déjame recordarte cómo eras entonces, cuando aún no existías.

De pronto el viento aúlla y golpea mi ventana cerrada.
El cielo es una red cuajada de peces sombríos.
Aquí vienen a dar todos los vientos, todos.
Se desviste la lluvia.

Pasan huyendo los pájaros.
El viento. El viento.
Yo sólo puedo luchar contra la fuerza de los hombres.
El temporal arremolina hojas oscuras
y suelta todas las barcas que anoche amarraron al cielo.

Tú estás aquí. Ah tú no huyes.
Tú me responderás hasta el último grito.
Ovíllate a mi lado como si tuvieras miedo.
Sin embargo alguna vez corrió una sombra extraña por tus ojos.

Ahora, ahora también, pequeña, me traes madreselvas,
y tienes hasta los senos perfumados.
Mientras el viento triste galopa matando mariposas
yo te amo, y mi alegría muerde tu boca de ciruela.

Cuanto te habrá dolido acostumbrarte a mí,
a mi alma sola y salvaje, a mi nombre que todos ahuyentan.
Hemos visto arder tantas veces el lucero besándonos los ojos
y sobre nuestras cabezas destorcerse los crepúsculos en abanicos girantes.

Mis palabras llovieron sobre ti acariciándote.
Amé desde hace tiempo tu cuerpo de nácar soleado.
Hasta te creo dueña del universo.
Te traeré de las montañas flores alegres, copihues,
avellanas oscuras, y cestas silvestres de besos.

Quiero hacer contigo
lo que la primavera hace con los cerezos.

Leave a Reply

