Sentimentality Hour: Photos

My friends and I had the pleasure to experience the 101 fireworks in Taipei with an incredibly advantageous view from a hotel window. Everyone had a phone at hand, taking videos and Instagram things that I didn’t comprehend completely. Personally, I hate being in photos except for the occasional selfie.

What I don’t understand is why people take some many pictures. I guess with the new age of technology, it is important to document things, but sometimes it gets in the way of really appreciating the moment. I know it’s an overstated revelation, but it’s almost scary how prevalent it’s becoming to some people. Perhaps I’ll only really appreciate it when I’m old, and I only have the photos from other people showing me how I spent my time when I was younger, but I’d rather let the blurriness of distant memories embellish the past as I can recall it. I suppose the concept of filters can make paused glimpses of reality seem “grander”, yet I’d rather let imagination and time affect the way I view what has already happened.

I too, am victim to the craze of “smartphones”; this, I cannot deny. It doesn’t stop me from growing horrified that there are young kids who don’t know a life without them. We once were human creatures who didn’t need electric devices to have fun, who weren’t always distracted by the tiny lit-up screens and notifications. I’m sadly surprised to find my neck sore from glancing downwards at my iPhone so much.

For the older people, however, I completely understand their obsession. They lived in a time where none of this communication was possible. I still hear my mother and her friends exclaim at the seemingly simple concept of being able to use “Google Translate” to understand other languages. “So you can just put the sentence in here and it does it for you? Than why are you studying Spanish?” my mother once said to me. How did the generations of language learners not have this handy tool at their disposal? I think we have to work much less hard than they did, which means the rate in which we learn must be unfathomable more efficient, our potentials unlimited as the space on the internet. Maybe our obsession with vintage and old-fashioned things is subconsciously related to the fact that we will never have to rely on those outdated methods and styles that were the forerunners of how the present is designed. Why else would we put want to put everything through a “1950s” lens?

All in all, I hope people out there never become to driven by their social media outlets so much so that they forget to enjoy themselves existing without these platforms. I am one of those people. I hope they are loving the fact that they are able to live in such a way where convenience is at everyone’s fingertips. I hope they don’t have a void of affection that can only be filled with the number of “likes” for a certain thing. I hope this for myself too. I hope I hope I hope.

Leave a Reply

